Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Rizzoli, Isles, and Tess Gerritsen

Angie Harmon and Sasha Alexander as Rizzoli and Isles

Rizzoli and Isles the hit show on TNT returns Monday, July 11th for its second season. The show stars Angie Harmon as detective Jane Rizzoli and Sasha Alexander as medical examiner Maura Isles. They are the best of friends and together they solve crimes and bust some of Boston's most notorious criminals. The one-hour drama is based on the Rizzoli/Isles series of novels by Tess Gerritsen.
Gerritsen's bio is pretty interesting in its own right. While on maternity leave from her successful medical practice, she began to write fiction. Her first book, Call After Midnight, a romantic thriller was published 1987. But it was her first medical thriller, Harvest, that was released in hardcover in 1996, that marked her debut on the New York Times Bestseller list. She's won both the Nero Wolfe Award for Vanish and the 2002 Rita Award for The Surgeon. Her novels have been praised as "pulse-pounding fun."
As you might have imagined, she's now retired from medicine and writes full time from her home in Maine.

Books by Tess Gerritsen:

Tavistock Family series
  1. In Their Footsteps (1994)
  2. Thief of Hearts (1995) aka Stolen
Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles series
  1. The Surgeon (2001)
  2. The Apprentice (2002)
  3. The Sinner (2003)
  4. Body Double (2004)
  5. Vanish (2005)
  6. The Mephisto Club (2006)
  7. Keeping the Dead (2008) aka The Keepsake
  8. Ice Cold (2010) aka The Killing Place
  9. The Silent Girl (2011)
DVD Rizzoli & Isles Season 1 


Call After Midnight (1987)
Under the Knife (1990)
Whistleblower (1992)
Never Say Die (1992) 
Presumed Guilty (1993)
Peggy Sue Got Murdered (1994) aka Girl Missing
Harvest (1996)
Life Support (1997)
Bloodstream (1998)
Gravity (1999)
The Bone Garden (2007)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...