Thursday, May 8, 2014

2014 Children's Choice Book Award Illustrator of the Year Finalists

2014 Children's Choice Book Awards logo

Launched in 2008 by the Children's Book Council and Every Child a Reader, The Children's and Teen Choice Book Awards program was created to provide young readers with an opportunity to voice their opinions about the books being written for them and to help develop a reading list that will motivate children to cultivate a love of reading.


2014 Illustrator of the Year Finalists

Oliver Jeffers, The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt (Philomel)
The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt; illustrated by Oliver Jeffers
Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun.

What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?
Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers' Stuck, The Incredible Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.
Victoria Kann, Emeraldalicious (HarperCollins)
Emeraldalicious written and Illustrated by Victoria Kann
When Pinkalicious and Peter decide to visit their favorite park, they find that it's no longer their favorite place—the park is now filled with stinky trash! Pinkalicious has an idea and makes an extra-special wand out of a stick and some flowers. Now whenever Pinkalicious makes a wish, adds a little love, and recites a pinkatastic rhyme, something amazing happens: Everything turns greenerrific!


Join Pinkalicious as she turns an ordinary place into an Emeraldalicious world! Kids will love this colorful picture book with a message about doing our part to keep our world clean and beautiful.

Supports the Common Core Learning Standards
James Dean, Pete the Cat: The Wheels on the Bus (HarperCollins)
Pete the Cat: Wheels on the Bus written and illustrated by James Dean
#1 New York Times bestselling artist James Dean makes Pete the Cat groovier than ever in this cool adaptation of "The Wheels on the Bus." Join Pete as he rides on the bus to school with his friends and hears all the different sounds a bus makes as it drives. Fans of Pete the Cat will sing along with Pete in this rendition of a classic favorite children's song.




 Anna Dewdney, Llama Llama and the Bully Goat (Viking)
Llama Llama and the Bully Goat written and illustrated by Anna Dewdney
Llama Llama likes to sing.
Gilroy laughs at everything.
Llama sings out just the same.
Gilroy says a not-nice name.

Teacher has some things to say:
calling names is not OK.
 
Llama Llama is learning lots of new things at school and making many friends. But when Gilroy Goat starts teasing him and some of their classmates, Llama Llama isn't sure what to do. And then he remembers what his teacher told him—walk away and tell someone. It works! But then Llama Llama feels badly. Can he and Gilroy try to be friends again?
 
Taking on a difficult but important part of children's lives, Anna Dewdney gives readers a way to experience and discuss bullying in a safe and comforting way.

Grace Lee, Sofia the First: The Floating Palace by Catherine Hapka (Disney Press)
Sofia meets Princess Ariel in this adorable mermaid tale!
During her family vacation on a floating palace, Sofia befriends a mermaid, and through their friendship, helps save the mermaid's kingdom and brings their two worlds together.





Voting is still open through May 12th.

Winners will be announced at the 7th Annual Children's Book Week Gala. This year's Gala is hosted by National Ambassador for Young People's Literature and Newbery Medal Winner, Kate DiCamillo.

My heartfelt congratulations go out to all of the finalists!

Angela








No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...