Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday: If you Liked Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, You Might Like...

 
Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish


Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, released just last month, has enjoyed it's secure spot on the New York Times Best Seller list for four weeks now. It's in the number four spot, just beneath the Fifty Shades trilogy.

And for some other exciting news for fans, 20th Century Fox has acquired the movie rights. The film will be produced by Reese Witherspoon, Bruna Papandrea, and Leslie Dixon. Gillian Flynn will write the screenplay. You can read all the juicy details at deadline.com.

Read, and loved it? You could read one of the other two suspenseful titles written by Flynn: Sharp Objects or Dark Places. Here's the synopsis for Gone Girl from Gillian's website:

Marriage can be a real killer. One of the most critically acclaimed suspense writers of our time, New York Times bestseller Gillian Flynn, takes that statement to its darkest place in this unputdownable masterpiece about a marriage gone terribly, terribly wrong. As The Washington Post proclaimed, her work “draws you in and keeps you reading with the force of a pure but nasty addiction.” Gone Girl’s toxic mix of sharp-edged wit with deliciously chilling prose creates a nerve-fraying thriller that confounds you at every turn.

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick Dunne’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick Dunne isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but hearing from Amy through flashbacks in her diary reveal the perky perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer? As the cops close in, every couple in town is soon wondering how well they know the one that they love. With his twin sister Margo at his side, Nick stands by his innocence. Trouble is, if Nick didn’t do it, where is that beautiful wife? And what was left in that silvery gift box hidden in the back of her bedroom closet?
Here's are some choices for readalikes of Gone Girl.

1. Promise Not to Tell by Jennifer McMahon

Forty-one-year-old school nurse Kate Cypher has returned home to rural Vermont to care for her mother who's afflicted with Alzheimer's. On the night she arrives, a young girl is murdered—a horrific crime that eerily mirrors another from Kate's childhood. Three decades earlier, her dirt-poor friend Del—shunned and derided by classmates as "Potato Girl"—was brutally slain. Del's killer was never found, while the victim has since achieved immortality in local legends and ghost stories. Now, as this new murder investigation draws Kate irresistibly in, her past and present collide in terrifying, unexpected ways. Because nothing is quite what it seems . . . and the grim specters of her youth are far from forgotten.
More than just a murder mystery, Jennifer McMahon's extraordinary debut novel, Promise Not to Tell, is a story of friendship and family, devotion and betrayal—tautly written, deeply insightful, beautifully evocative, and utterly unforgettable.
 2. In the Woods by Tana French

As dusk approaches a small Dublin suburb in the summer of 1984, mothers begin to call their children home. But on this warm evening, three children do not return from the dark and silent woods. When the police arrive, they find only one of the children gripping a tree trunk in terror, wearing blood-filled sneakers, and unable to recall a single detail of the previous hours.
Twenty years later, the found boy, Rob Ryan, is a detective on the Dublin Murder Squad and keeps his past a secret. But when a twelve-year-old girl is found murdered in the same woods, he and Detective Cassie Maddox—his partner and closest friend—find themselves investigating a case chillingly similar to the previous unsolved mystery. Now, with only snippets of long-buried memories to guide him, Ryan has the chance to uncover both the mystery of the case before him and that of his own shadowy past.
Richly atmospheric, stunning in its complexity, and utterly convincing and surprising to the end, In the Woods is sure to enthrall fans of Mystic River and The Lovely Bones. And look for French's new mystery, Broken Harbor, for more of the Dublin Murder Squad.
3.  Garnethill by Denise Mina

"A shattering first novel... You can't look away from it."--New York Times Book Review

Maureen O'Donnell wakes up one morning to find her therapist boyfriend murdered in the middle of her living room and herself a prime suspect in a murder case. Desperate to clear her name and to get at the truth, Maureen traces rumors about a similar murder at a local psychiatric hospital, uncovering a trail of deception and repressed scandal that could exonerate her - or make her the next victim.

"I can't think of a more interesting - and less likely - crime hero than Maureen O'Donnell, the damaged but determined center of Denise Mina's marvelous debut mystery. . . . The book bristles with angry energy and the spare urban poetry of its unique language." -Chicago Tribune

"A groundbreaking book...its emotional rawness and visceral honesty pack a punch more potent than any boxer-turned-PI could provide."--Washington Post Book World

"This raw, powerful story is an exceptional debut." -Kansas City Star

"A compelling story. . . . This is the reason we read mysteries." -Rocky Mountain News
4.  The Playdate by Louise Millar

In a quiet London suburb, a group of mothers relies on each other for friendship, favors, and gossip. But some of them shouldn’t be trusted, and others have dark secrets.
When Callie moved into her new neighborhood, she thought it would be easy to fit in. The other parents have been strangely hostile, though, and her frail daughter Rae is finding it impossible to make friends. Suzy, with her rich husband and her three energetic children, has been the only one to reach out, although their friendship has recently felt inexplicably strained. Now the police have suggested that someone dangerous may be living in their neighborhood, and the atmosphere feels even more toxic. Then there’s the matter of Callie’s ex-husband, and the shocking truth behind their divorce . . . a truth that she would do anything to hide.
5.  Still Missing by Chevy Stevens

On the day she was abducted, Annie O’Sullivan, a thirty-two-year-old realtor, had three goals—sell a house, forget about a recent argument with her mother, and be on time for dinner with her ever-patient boyfriend. The open house is slow, but when her last visitor pulls up in a van as she’s about to leave, Annie thinks it just might be her lucky day after all.
Interwoven with the story of the year Annie spent captive in a remote mountain cabin—which unfolds through sessions with her psychiatrist—is the second narrative recounting the nightmare that follows her escape: her struggle to piece her shattered life back together, the ongoing police investigation into the identity of her captor, and the disturbing sense that things are far from over. 
6. Twisted Truth by Joanne Clarey

From the back cover: Christie knew she would have to fight him with what she did best. Her only defense against the madman was her psychological training and skill, her knowledge of the motivations and behaviors of the criminally insane. Tied and wounded, hidden where no one would think to look for her, outwitting her tormentor was her only hope for survival.

Dr. Christine McMorrow dedicates her life to helping victims of trauma, in private practice and as a consultant to the Maine State Task Force on Violence. She believes that truth will prevail, bringing healing and justice.

Stephen Scott dedicates his life to bringing his perverted truth to the world. Tortured and programmed as a child to believe that the ritualistic murder of women will expose them as innately evil, his mission is to encourage others to follow his path.
When Christie disappears, her colleague, Detective Bill Drummond, and housemate, Alex Harris, do all they can to find the woman they both love.

Can Christie save herself? Will Bill or Alex find her in time? Or will Stephen's twisted truth triumph over an innocent woman once again?
Well, six is all I got this week. Here are a couple more readalike lists from my archives:

If you like the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich, you might like...

If you liked Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand, you might like...

If you liked The Help by Kathryn Stockett, you might like...

Have a great week.
Happy reading,
Angela
 
 
 
 



27 comments:

  1. I've never heard of The Playdate before, but it sounds like the kind of thing I would enjoy - thanks for the tip!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're quite welcome, smallgirl. Thanks a million for coming by.

      Delete
  2. Oh, thanks for the recs. I LOVE Gillian Flynn's books and I have Gone Girl to read very very soon. I'm super pumped it will be a film and she's writing the screenplay...I did't know that!

    -Lauren

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Lauren,
      I'm so happy you stopped by. I'm glad I could share the info with you :)

      Delete
  3. These all sound so good! Dammit. Now, I have to add all of them to Goodreads.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sorry :( But thanks for coming by, amity.

      Delete
  4. I just read Sharp Objects and am now reading Dark Places! I have a hold on Gone Girl, but there are 180 holds on 33 copies in my county, so I have a while before I get that one lol. But I like the sound of this list!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much, Jennifer. Sounds like it's right up your alley :)

      Delete
  5. I haven't read ANY of these books but I better get to it. All of these sound really interesting though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Elena,
      Thanks so much for coming by! It's so nice to see you.

      Delete
  6. You've given me tons to look into. I haven't read any of them. I really need to get back to reading off the Best Seller List.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Amy,
      I know what you mean! I've added a TON of titles to my TBR list from yet another fantastic Top Ten :) Thanks for stopping.

      Delete
  7. Oooh creepy! I've never read Gone Girl... but I think I might watch the movie... provided it's not too scary!

    Here’s my TTT

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't like too scary either, Joie. Thank you for coming by.

      Delete
  8. Oh I am going to have to check some of these out. They look good. :o) Thanks for stopping by my page.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My pleasure, Amanda. Have a great rest of the week :)

      Delete
  9. These all sound facinating. I've not read any of them but they've got my attention. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you so much for stopping by, Kate :)

      Delete
  10. Hi, I just finished Gone Girl and wanted to find some other books that would be similar. Thanks so much for your suggestions. I really don't like to be spooked too much, but just can't put books like these down. Exciting, like a roller-coaster ride for the brain.

    Thanks again.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're quite welcome. Thank you for coming by and taking the time to comment.

      Delete
  11. Ooooh just found this post and THANK YOU for it! I adore Gone Girl (would make book babies with that novel, truly), and have been having trouble finding good "read alikes" to follow up. Awesome!

    ReplyDelete
  12. This is a wonderful site. I'm an avid reader and Gillian Flynn is my new favorite author. Unfortunately, I've devoured all three of her books and want more! Thank you so much for compiling these lists. You're a new go to site!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you so much, Amy. I'm glad you stopped by.

      Delete
  13. I have no idea why Twisted Truth is on this list. Why do you think that Joanne Clarey is ANYTHING like Gillian Flynn? I just finished with Twisted Truth and it was definitely one of the WORST books I have ever read. The author clearly lost interest in her project halfway through and just sped through the ending. It did not give any closure to any part of the story. Also, there was no twist like the Gillian Flynn books.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I recently read Gone Girl and found it fascinating. I look forward to reading some of the others on your list. :) Thanks for sharing!
    Stephanie

    ReplyDelete
  15. "Gone Girl" is the kind of book that compels you to read even when you DON'T have time. If you appreciate skillful writing, it will hook you like an addiction. You will resent distractions, ignore the phone, postpone making dinner in order to stay with it. It's that much fun to read, I promise.

    Charmaine Smith (View Website for Bankruptcy Attorney Chicago Wipe Out Bills)

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...